CALDWELL – The Mount St. Dominic Academy softball team continues its quest for a second straight Essex County Tournament title as it enters the quarterfinals of the tournament.

The second-seeded Lions will take on No. 10 Millburn on Friday, May 12, at Verona. The semifinals are scheduled for Friday, May 18, and the championship game is set for Saturday, May 19, all at Ivy Hill Park in Newark.

“We are excited to play the ECT as every year it is a great event,” said co-head coach Rob Stern. “The county has many teams that can win the event, which makes it a great tournament. Our players are excited to defend our championship. [To win] we just have to have fun and play one game at a time, enjoy the game and play hard.”

The Lions (15-5) defeated 15th-seeded Belleville, 10-0, on Friday, May 4, in the first round of the tournament.

Ali Winters hit a solo home run and a two-run home run and also pitched a one-hit shutout with 12 strikeouts.

Winning streak

Mount St. Dominic is on a nine-game winning streak.

“We have been getting great hitting by all our players in the lineup,” said Stern. “At the top, Alexa Raphael and Dani Dabroski have been setting the table for our big hitters Ali Winters, Julianna Kocinski, and Sarah Taffet.”

The Lions defeated Lodi Immaculate, 13-3, on Wednesday, May 2, Livingston, 10-0, on Monday, May 7, and Cedar Grove, 6-2, on Tuesday, May 8.

The team had won two out of three games in Ohio in April.

“The team had a great trip to Ohio to play in the Wendy’s Classic, going 2-1 vs. top teams in Ohio,” Stern said.

The Lions were set to play Bloomfield on Wednesday, May 9. They are scheduled to play Indian Hills on Thursday, May 10, Verona on Monday, May 14, and Northern Burlington on Tuesday, May 15.

 

 

Click here to read The Progress article