Mount Saint Dominic Academy


Academic Recognitions

Class of 2018

Congratulations to the Class of 2018 for their Achievements!
The 74 students collectively have been awarded over $17 million in college scholarships and grants.

National Merit Scholarship 2018 Commended Students
Olivia Apuzzi
Alessandra DiFilippo
Morgan Palumbo
Renee Samuel

Natalie Booth – Class of 2018 Valedictorian
Julia Marzella – Class of 2018 Salutatorian

Class of 2017

Angelina Zaccaria – Class of 2017 Valedictorian
Starr Shapiro – Class of 2017 Salutatorian

Congratulations to the Class of 2017 for their Achievements!
The 87 students collectively have been awarded over $14.5 million in college scholarships and grants.

National Merit Scholarship 2017 Finalist
Angelina Zaccaria

Class of 2016

Livia Seymour – Class of 2016 Valedictorian
Emily Ascherl – Class of 2016 Salutatorian

Congratulations to the Class of 2016 for their Achievements!
The 76 students collectively have been awarded over $13 million in college scholarships and grants.

National Merit Scholarship 2016 Commended Students
Emily Ascherl

Emma Bigelow

National Hispanic Recognition 2016 Scholar Award
Emma Bigelow

MSDA Recognitions

Sister Doris Ann Bowles, OP Award
Sister Doris Ann Bowles, OP was the principal of Mount Saint Dominic Academy from 1988-1998. Under her leadership the slogan, “excellence makes a difference” was born. She encouraged the student body to never settle for less than their personal best: excellence in academics, activities, and most importantly in living a life of value and meaning.
Morgan Palumbo ’18
Caroline Gutowski ’17
Gabrielle Ramos ’16

Mary Pat Evans Award
Mary Pat was an English teacher at the Mount from 1974 to 1987. She died very suddenly at the end of the 1987 school year. In her memory, the 1987-1988 Student Council established an award to honor a young woman fulfilling the following criteria: a member of the graduating class, supportive of school activities, works to her academic ability, shows reverence and respect for others, exhibits confidence in herself and represents the traits of Christian womanhood.
Alexandria Grasso ’18
Samantha Pagliuca ’17
Gabrielle Ramos ’16

Eileen DeCoursey McDuff Leadership Award
Eileen ’50 was a strong advocate and benefactor of the Mount and was elected to the Mount Hall of Fame in 2001. Upon her death in 2004, her classmates established the award in her memory to honor a young woman fulfilling the following criteria: a member of the junior class, demonstrated leadership, and one to whom others turn, a woman of quiet confidence, perseveres to accomplish a goal, a compassionate friend, and a possessor of a generous heart who exudes boundless spirit.
Julia Marzella ’18
Alexis Gomis ’17

F. Todd Miller Award
Todd Miller was a much beloved athletic coach at Mount Saint Dominic Academy who passed away tragically just before the beginning of the 2001-2002 school year. Todd was a true Renaissance man who could be found encouraging his track team and swimmers to reach for their best while quoting Shakespeare. The most important thing to Todd was that his students live a well-rounded life where they were a part of making things happen for the better.
Skyler Spinelli ’18
Jacqueline Smith ’17
Kahaia Voelkl ’16

Dorothy Day Social Justice Award
Dorothy Day was a 20th century American Catholic laywoman recognized for her life of justice, peacemaking and service. This award honor was instituted by the Law Alumnae and Board of Directors of The Mount. The criteria for the Dorothy Day Award require the student to be active in the Justice Club for several years and have actively and willingly contributed throughout those years; serve as a Justice Day leader and other Justice activities at The Mount; and accumulate service hours that are varied, people-focused, and exhibit the corporal works of mercy.
Nieve Beckwith ’19
Sarah Sulc ’18
Starr Shapiro ’17

Sister Barbara Cowan, OP Award

“What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others.”

Sister Barbara Cowan, OP, Assistant Principal, teacher of Math and Science, and founder of the Peer Leadership Program, was at Mount Saint Dominic Academy from 1967-1972 and 1985-2007. Sister Barbara was a woman of faith, quiet strength and convictions. She was a gentle leader with deep respect and compassion for others. A love of learning and a passion for teaching describes her life. Her legacy lives on in all who knew her or of her.

This award is given to a member of the present Freshman class who:

  • Displays enthusiasm in the classroom and outside of it
  • Has earned the respect of her fellow classmates
  • Demonstrates respect and compassion for others
  • Is involved in school activities
  • Works to her academic abilities
  • Continues the legacy of Sister Barbara

2017-2018: Catherine Browne ’21
2016-2017: Ava Rakowski ’20
2015-2016: Brook Ramos ’19
2014-2015: Heather Burgers ’18
2013-2014: Emma Przyhocki ’17
2012-2013: Egan Barnitt ’16
2011-2012: Katherine Corwin ’15

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This